NaGa DeMon is Go Go Go, Mon!

So, everybody is up on me doing that crazy NaNoWriMo thing? Yeah? You should, it’s been all I’ve blogged about this month.

Well, thanks to the latest episode of the All Games Considered podcast (my #1 source of traditional gaming news), I’ve just discovered a brand new distraction to steal all my free time and free will: National Game Design Month. Or “NaGa DeMon” for short. Cute, huh?

For those of you who don’t ever click blog hyperlinks (and what savvy fellows you must be), I’ll give the lowdown:

  • During November, you must create a game. Can be card game, board game, war game, RPG, etc
  • Must be ‘finished’ and playable before Dec 1st. This includes all the rules, and any items needed to play (cards, game board, etc)
  • Playtest it. Can be amazing, can be the worst thing since FATAL.
  • Share your game. Spread it as far as possible. Creativity, like misery, loves company!

So there you have it, 30 days to finish a game. And just what sort of game am I going to make? Well, since I don’t have the wherewithal to print up cards or make a board, I’ll have to go with an RPG. It may surprise you to know that, in the past, I’ve made RPGs in very short periods of time. The two that spring to mind are A.V.A.T.A.R.: DigiDevil MachineVolution and Magical Friendship: A Non-Copyright Pony RPG, the latter one only taking less than an hour!

All I have so far are two ideas: The game will be called City Of Light, and it will be an Additive Dice Pool game. I’ll try and post about it any day that I don’t have a Heaven Smiles chapter to put up. So now you’ll have to check this blog every. single. day.

Arn’t you lucky?

Today’s Lesson: If you already have too much on your plate, go back for seconds.

Swing that d6!

