With A Heavy Heart

I’ve just had to knock back a job offer. The first one in over a year.

Yeah, that never feels good.

The job requires a wide range of skills both clerical and social – which I have – except for experience with a particular database and mapping software suite. During my uni degree into Geographical Information Systems, the courses covered every other piece of software out there, including how to code our own apps as required, but not this one.

Damn.

This is especially hard on me since the job was offered to me, instead of having to offer myself to them. An employment agency discovered my resume and I was a good match on every front.

Looks like its back to trying volunteer work, eh? If they won’t pay me, might as well do it for free and get my foot firmly planted in the door.

 

